Home > 419 eaters, scammers > Another Scammer? C'mon CraigsList

Another Scammer? C'mon CraigsList

Is it possible that CraigsList has become overrun with spammers and scammers? Say it ain’t so.

From: Rental Request
To: kernsonberg@yahoo.com
Date: Sat, Feb 28, 2009 at 3:56 PM
Subject: RE: $1200 / 4br – Gorgeous Home – Larged fenced in Yard (Virginia Beach)

I saw your listing on CraigsList and was very interested in it. Where is it located? How many square feet does it have?
When is it available for rent?
Thanks.

And the canned response (mention African missionary group, out of country, need rental application filled out quickly):

From: Kernson Berg
To: Rental Request
Date: Tue, Mar 3, 2009 at 4:40 AM
Subject: RE: $1200 / 4br – Gorgeous Home – Larged fenced in Yard (Virginia Beach)

Hello,
Thanks for the mail, I intend renting it out because I am currently in West Africa where I work as a volunteer with the GO WEST AFRICA ORGANISATION,here is the site for more detail about why I am here in Africa.(http://www.gowestafrica.org). so needs a tenant to take care of it but since I am out of the state now,I have received some proposals regarding the rent because it is located in a very good area of Virginia Beach,but I still have to make sure it is rented out to someone who can take good care of it. It includes facilities such as hydro and heat laundry facilities,air condition,internet and telephone access and a car park and other necessary fac ilities,also comes with trash collection,pets are allowed as well as long as they are not destructive. so if you know you are capable of the task,get back to me so that I can forward you with the RENT APPLICATION FORM,so that we can proceed with the rent. it is located below. Address: 1600 Cutty Sark Rd. Virginia Beach, Virginia

Ooh, this sounds interesting. Let’s get some more information. Oh, and we should warn Kenson about the perils of Africa.

From: Rental Request
To: kernsonberg@yahoo.com
Date: Tue, Mar 3, 2009 at 8:34 PM
Subject: Re: $1200 / 4br – Gorgeous Home – Larged fenced in Yard (Virginia Beach)

Kenson,

I am very interested to hear more about this listing. How many square feet is it? When can I schedule a time to take a tour?

West Africa sounds great – what country? We have many friends who are part of the Southern Baptist Convention ministries through our church – what church did you belong to in Virginia Beach?

Be careful, though. I’ve heard that there are a lot of scam artists working in Africa. Those people are not very Christian.

Thanks,

P

The last line may have been TOO obvious, because I haven’t heard back yet. We’ll see.

UPDATE It wasn’t too obvious.

from Kernson Berg
to Rental Request
date Wed, Mar 4, 2009 at 11:59 AM
subject Re: $1200 / 4br – Gorgeous Home – Larged fenced in Yard (Virginia Beach)

Hello,
Thanks for the mail,I can see your williness in the place…Here is the sqft 2,008 ….I am in Nigeria…And i also see what they are doing but i use too hand over them to the police here…I will just like to know if you will be able to take good care of the place.

I’m not comfortable with him speaking of my williness, but I definitely want to hear more about this rental.

rom Rental Request
to Kernson Berg
date Wed, Mar 4, 2009 at 12:27 PM
subject Re: $1200 / 4br – Gorgeous Home – Larged fenced in Yard (Virginia Beach)

Wow, that definitely sounds great. When can we take a tour of the property?

That is great that you hand the scam artists over to the police. As a Christian, I think they should be dealt with severely, don’t you? When you lived in Virginia Beach, what church did you belong to?

I will definitely take good care of the place. Cleanliness is next to Godliness after all.

P.

Categories: 419 eaters, scammers Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 4, 2009 at 1:33 pm

Leave a Reply

